Day 33 (5/3): A Marvellous Century

Little Rock to Marvel, 101 miles.

We rode out of Little Rock on a fantastic bicycle path. I guess Little Rock is getting really excited about cycling, and just put a nice path riverside.  There is no better way to start out 100+ miles on a “Big Dam Bridge,” and then going for an easy stroll in the woods.

Big Dam Bridge - Longest pedestrian bridge, ever.

Riding on said "Big Dam Bridge"

Into the wilderness

View from the path

Pete is just so happy to be on this bike path

After the first twenty miles or so, the scenery kind of dulled to a quiet roar.  In fact, it was so not scenic – I thought we were back in Texas.  The last few days it has really went from early spring temperature to summer overnight – and it was  roaring 87 and humid today.  As you know, I don’t deal well with humidity.  Factor in a hot day, and magnify that 100x.  Factor in 100 miles, and well, you get the idea.  I’ll just say I was happy my kidney’s still worked at the end of the day 🙂

Hot, hot sun and no shade

Speaking of all of this hotness, I did some really stupid – I rode without my jersey.  My lower back hates me for it, since I had my sunscreener only do my top (I forgot the lower part..) .  I’m already lobster red, and I’ll make sure to give you an update.  There is a pool when it will start to blister.

We had a provided meal at the church we stayed in and afterwards a few of us explored the small/dead town of Marvell that ended up drinking a brew in a tractor.

More to follow soon with centuries, hot days in Memphis, floods, and the works.

Leave a comment